No one cares.

I almost lost it today.  In a city where no one cares who you are or what you’re “trying” to do it’s hard to keep your chin up.

As I sat on my orange B-train seat, my thighs smeared all over the orange plastic I stared into the distance, which really wasn’t too distant because my train is always Mexi-packed. My eyes became fixated on the 12-year-old’s jeans pressed against my face.  I could feel the failure swelling in my eyes and wondered if the strangers on the train knew what misery I was in. Then it became clear: The Virgin Mary’s face was embedded into the denim staring me in the face.

Am I crazy or  did the Virgin Mary really manifest in this boy’s pants to tell me not to give up, to keep fighting and to stick it out in New York?

Leave a Reply

